PDA

View Full Version : Old nubee

Wodin
2009-Sep-29 Tue, 10:41
I'd like to introduce myself to those I havenít met yet, and say ďHi!Ē to old friends.

My name is Wayne Swanson, and Iím from Aiea, HI. Iím a former Guild member and Officer. I was a HRVG student in the nineties, and active both socially, and as a member of an RV team.

I was offered a job on the Big Island with the US Army in July, 2000 and took it. I was still living on Oahu, but commuted weekly to Hilo, so I wasnít able to participate in the Guild anymore. Sadly without constant Guild participation my RVing slowed and finally stopped, and I havenít worked a target in years. Obviously, without constant practice, any meager skills I might have had have pretty much deteriorated to zero, and any memory of my protocols have vanished.

My wife, Susie, was also a guild member, and she is in pretty much the same boat as I am, no practice, no skills, no protocols.

A few years ago I was transferred to Wheeler AAF, and no longer had to commute, but other interests prevailed, and we didnít come back. I have recently been transferred again to Fort Shafter and am working as an IT Project Manager for the 311th Signal Command.

Susie will be retiring from a long career with the State of Hawaii soon, and we might be able to make more time to re-engage with the Guild. If so, a complete retraining would be required, and we would essentially be nubees again.

Regards, Wayne

Glenn B. Wheaton
2009-Sep-29 Tue, 16:24